On Air Now

Classic Hits Jukebox
12:00am - 7:00am
Classic Hits Jukebox

Local News

Qualifying for the November Primary Election ended today

Qualifying for the November 3 Primary Election July 24, 2020 Qualifying has ended for the November 3 primary election in Evangeline Parish. Since Wednesday, candidates have been coming in to the Clerk of Court office in the courthouse to file their qualifying papers to seek political office. Here is the list of qualifiers: For US Senator (statewide): Incumbent Bill Cassidy and challengers: Beryl Billiot, John Paul Bourgois, Reno Daret, Derrick Edwards, Xan John, David Knight, M.V. Mendoza, Jamar Montgomery, Dustin Murphy, Adrian Perkins, Antoine Pierce, Melinda Price, Aaron Sigler and Peter Wenstrup. For Congressman, 4th Congressional District: Incumbent Mike Johnson and challengers: Ben Gibson, Kenny Houston and Ryan Trundle. Both District Court Judges, Gary Ortego and Chuck West and District Attorney Trent Brignac were unopposed so they were re-elected to another term in office. Also City Court Judge Gregory Vidrine was unopposed and was re elected for another term. For Ward One City Court Judge, three qualified for the November election: Lisa Doucet, Horace Johnson and Nicole Snoddy. The following candidates were unopposed and were re-elected: Nick Chaumont, District Two School Board member, Dave McGee and Charlotte Smith for the two Justices of the Peace in Ward Two, Pamela Hall for Justice of the Peace Ward Three; Wade Riley for Justice of the Peace Ward Four, Mike Causey for Justice of the Peace for Ward Five; Earlin Fruge and Mike Stockwell for the two Constables in Ward Two; Tim Causey for Constable in Ward Four; Derrick Guillory for Constable in Ward Five; and Quint West for Pine Prairie Mayor. The following will face off in November: Joe Brady and Michael "Gorilla" Fruge for Constable in Ward Three; Incumbent L.C. Deshotel and challenger Joshua Estes for Pine Prairie Police Chief; Carmen Cortez and Herbert "Rip" Rippeon for Alderman in District Two in Basile and for Aldermen in Pine Prairie where three are to be elected: Incumbents Gilbert Bordelon, Tammy Hammond and Debbie Oge and challengers Gretchen Long Lamke and Kevin Rodriguez. Voters will also for President of the United States.

KVPI Video Of the Week




Visitor Poll

What is your favorite Elvis #1 single?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.




KVPI AM and FM are

proud members of the L.A.B.

KVPI is a member of the

LSU Sports Radio Network

Proud supporter of our own

Swamp Pop music

The Louisana Swamp Pop Museum is operated by the City of Ville  Platte is open to the public every Friday and

Saturday from 10:00a.m. to 3:00p.m. Come view the amazing artifacts, photos,records, Wall of Fame and hear the music.

Admission charge is $3 adults,

$2 seniors and $1 for children under 12.
The museum is located on

Northwest Railroad Avenue.