DJ Tunie

On Air Now

DJ Tunie
10:10am - 10:30am
Morning Show

Local News

Evangeline Parish Election Returns


NOVEMBER 4, 2014


    Despite a very long ballot, all of the returns in Evangeline Parish were announced by 10:00 Tuesday night. Here are the complete but unofficial election returns as reported over KVPI FM compliments of Evangeline Parish Clerk of Court Randy Deshotel.

    In the District Judge’s race, Division A,  Gary Ortego defeated all of his challengers with 53 percent of the vote. Ortego received 6448 votes while his opponents, Tony Dupre received 2985 votes and Gilbert Aucoin got 2548 votes.

    In the Ward One City Judge’s race, there will be a runoff between the top vote getter Betsy Jackson who got 2110 votes and Greg Vidrine who got 1831 votes. The next challenger was Alex Sonny Chapman who received 1170 votes and Kathy Fontenot Meyers with 1090 votes.

    In the school board district seat, challenger Mike Fontenot defeated incumbent David Landreneau. Fontenot received 506 votes to Landreneau’s 293 votes.

   Over in District Seven, the school board incumbent Buck Dupuis narrowly defeated challenger Sheila Joseph by five votes. Dupuis had 477 votes to Joseph’s 472 votes.

   In District 8, school board incumbent Wanda Skinner with 519 votes defeated challenger Jackie Doucet who received 385 votes.

   For Justice of the Peace in Ward Five, Michael Causey, the incumbent with 834 votes defeated challenger Annette Hazelton Fontenot who received 489 votes.

    For Justice of the Peace in Ward Three, Brent Zackery with 1187 votes defeated Wesley Childress with 1077 votes.

    For Justice of the Peace in Ward Four, incumbent Tim Causey with 675 votes defeated challenger Durwin Carter who got 371 votes.

   For Justice of the Peace in Ward Five, Derrick Guillory with 665 votes defeated Jeremy Lane Causey who got 656 votes.

   For Mayor in Ville Platte, incumbent Mayor Jennifer Vidrine with 2054 votes defeated Taranza Arvie with 1107 votes.

   For Mayor in Basile, challenger Mark Denette defeated incumbent Mayor Berline Sonnier, 290 votes to Sonnier’s 147 votes.

    For Mayor in Turkey Creek, Challenger Bert Campbell with 110 votes defeated incumbent Heather Cloud by four votes, 110 to 106 votes.

    For Chief of Police in Ville Platte, Incumbent Neal Lartigue with 1571 votes will go into a runoff with second place finisher Linton Fontenot with 884 votes. Coming in third place was Glenn Leleux with 757 votes. 

    For Chief of Police in Mamou, there will be a runoff between Katina Richard with 484 votes and Robert McGee who got 421 votes. Coming in third was Allen Noel with 171 votes and Charles Perdices who got 137 votes.

    For Chief of Police in Chataignier, Paul Allen Jr., the incumbent was re elected with 105 votes to challenger Bill Ortego’s 78 votes.

   For Chief of Police in Turkey Creek, there will be a runoff between Robert Glenn Leggett with 100 votes and Louis Dale Marcantel with 97 votes. Coming in third was Raymond DarDar with 7 votes.

   For Alderman in District 1 in Basile Frank Ceasar was re elected with 71 votes over Darrell Reed who got 39 votes.

    For Alderman in District 3 in Mamou, there will be a runoff between incumbent Charles Reed with 98 votes and Derryl T Glynn Brunet who got 76 votes. Jodie Gautreaux received 50 votes and Ted Lavergne received 36 votes.

   For alderman in District C in Ville Platte, incumbent Mike Perron with 428 votes defeated Anna Frank who received 145 votes.

    For Alderman in District D, incumbent Rev., Freddie Jack with 259 votes defeated Lionel Coach Anderson who received 250 votes.

    For Alderman in District E in Ville Platte, incumbent Donald Sam with 257 votes will go into a runoff with Jerry Bottley with 182 votes. Earl Edward received 138 votes.

‘   For Alderman in District F in Ville Platte Bryant Riggs with 195 votes will face Shounda Smith Jack in a runoff. Jack received 152 votes while Nat Thomas got 121 votes.

    For Alderman in District 2 in Basile, Hunter Ortego with 216 votes will face Bron Dubroc who got 192 votes in a December runoff. Others receiving votes in the race include: Carmen Langley with 161 votes. J.J. Jenkins with 128 votes and Rodney Bellon with 117 votes.

   For Alderman in the Village of Chataignier, three to be elected, Debra Fontenot with 112 votes, Joseph Semien with 92 votes and J.B. Brasseaux with 85 votes were all elected. Gail McDavid got 81 votes.

   For Alderman in the Village of Turkey Creek where three are to be elected, Kurry Stewart with 164 votes, Billy Neal King Jr with 160 votes and Joey Ducote with 126 votes were all elected. Kenneth Johnson received 106 votes.

    For U.S. Senator , Bill Cassidy was the top vote getter with 4798 votes followed by incumbent Mary Landrieu with 4349 votes. Rob Maness was in third place with 2360 votes. Others receiving votes include: Wayne Ables with 244 votes, Thomas Clements with 166 votes, Brannon McMorris with 123 votes, William Waymire with 75 votes and Vallian Senegal with 49 votes.

    For Congressman in the Fourth District, incumbent John Fleming easily won in Evangeline Parish. Fleming had 7876 votes and challenger Randall Lord received 2217 votes.

KVPI Video Of the Week




Visitor Poll

Do you sing along to your favorite songs in public/with friends?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.




KVPI AM and FM are

proud members of the L.A.B.

KVPI is a member of the

LSU Sports Radio Network

Proud supporter of our own

Swamp Pop music

The Louisana Swamp Pop Museum is operated by the City of Ville  Platte is open to the public every Friday and

Saturday from 10:00a.m. to 3:00p.m. Come view the amazing artifacts, photos,records, Wall of Fame and hear the music.

Admission charge is $3 adults,

$2 seniors and $1 for children under 12.
The museum is located on

Northwest Railroad Avenue.